# Best Food Tracking Apps in 2026: Where Each One Actually Charges You

## Short answer

Every major food tracking app is free to download and none is free in the same way. MyFitnessPal charges for barcode, photo and voice logging. Cronometer keeps barcode scanning and custom macro targets free and charges for photo and voice. Lose It! charges for macro tracking itself. MacroFactor and Cal AI have no usable free tier at all.

The hard part of choosing a food tracker is not which one has the best interface. It is that all of them are listed as free, the free tiers differ enormously, and you generally discover where the line falls a week in — after you have logged sixty meals and switching means starting over.

This page maps that line. For each app: what the vendor itself says you get without paying, what sits behind the subscription, and what it costs. Nothing here is inferred from the absence of a paywall notice; where a vendor does not state which tier a feature belongs to, this page says so instead of guessing.

Sources are each app's own App Store listing, pricing page or support article, read 4 September 2026. SlimAI makes one of the apps compared here and is subject to the same treatment — its paid boundary is stated as plainly as everyone else's.

## Where the paywall sits, app by app

Read that table by the row that matters to you rather than by counting checkmarks. If you eat packaged food, barcode is the row: Cronometer gives it away and MyFitnessPal charges for it, which reverses their usual reputations. If you cook, photo logging is the row. If you are chasing macros, the last column is the whole decision, and it is covered in more depth on our free macro tracker comparison.

| App | Barcode | Photo logging | Voice | Macro goals in grams |

|---|---|---|---|---|

| MyFitnessPal | Premium | Premium | Premium | Premium (free = percentages, 5% steps) |
| Cronometer | Free | Gold | Gold | Free |
| SlimAI | See listing | Free — one AI scan a day | Pro | Pro (free = calculated targets) |
| Lose It! | Premium | Premium | Premium | Premium |
| Fitia | Premium | Premium | Premium | Not stated |
| Cal AI | Subscription | Subscription — listing states scan results require one | Not offered | Not stated |
| MacroFactor | No free tier | No free tier | No free tier | On subscription |
| FatSecret | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free |
| MyNetDiary | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Premium (tracking grams is free) |

Each cell comes from that vendor's own App Store listing, pricing page or support article, read 4 September 2026. “Not stated” means no source we checked assigns the feature to a tier — treat it as unknown rather than free. SlimAI's barcode row says “see listing” for the same reason: the store's free-tier list is the source of truth for what is included, and we will not claim more for our own app than we would accept from a rival. Tiers move — MyFitnessPal put barcode scanning behind Premium in 2022 — so verify before subscribing.

## What nobody on this page can tell you, including us

Every roundup for this search names food-data accuracy as the deciding factor. Almost none of them measures it. The pattern is consistent: one page lists “food data may be inconsistent or inaccurate” as MyFitnessPal’s leading drawback with no figure attached; another says it is “prone to many inaccuracies”, also with no figure; a third, written by a tester with a dietitian panel, reprints a vendor’s own claim that its photo logging is “30% more accurate than competitors” without testing it.

We have not run that comparison either, so this page does not rank apps on accuracy. What is established is category-wide rather than app-specific: a meta-analysis of fourteen validation studies across twelve dietary-record apps found every app underestimated energy intake, pooled at roughly 202 kcal a day, and that the gap narrowed to about 57 kcal a day when the app and the reference used the same food database.

The practical reading is that the database matters more than the badge, and that consistency in how you log matters more than either. An app you use imperfectly every day beats a more accurate app you abandon in a fortnight — which is why the paywall map above is a more useful basis for choosing than an accuracy claim nobody has substantiated.

## Which app suits which person

- **You eat mostly packaged and restaurant food:** Database size and barcode access decide it. MyFitnessPal has the largest catalogue but charges for the scanner; Cronometer scans free with a smaller, curated database. FatSecret and MyNetDiary both offer large free databases. Try the barcode workflow on your own groceries before committing.
- **You cook, and nothing you eat is in a database:** Photo logging plus the ability to correct the estimate is what matters, because a home-cooked dish never maps cleanly onto one database row. Check whether the app lets you edit the identified ingredients and weights rather than only the portion size.
- **You want verified numbers for a medical reason:** Cronometer. Curated, lab-verified entries and up to 84 tracked nutrients, with custom macro and micronutrient targets in the free plan. Logging is slower and that is the trade.
- **You have quit tracking before because it took too long:** Free-tier logging speed is your only criterion. That means photo or voice on the free tier — which today is SlimAI’s one AI scan a day, or Cronometer’s Gold if you will pay for it. On MyFitnessPal’s free tier, logging is typing.
- **You already know your macros and want them enforced:** Cronometer or FatSecret free, MacroFactor if you will pay for adaptive targets. Gram-level goals are paid in MyFitnessPal and in SlimAI.

## What SlimAI does and does not include free

Stated as plainly as the rivals above. A free SlimAI account includes one AI photo scan a day with no time limit, unlimited text entry and food database search, macros shown in grams on every logged meal against targets calculated from your goal, body data and activity, a fasting timer, water, workouts and steps, adaptive calorie goals that move with your logging, home and lock screen widgets, Apple Health, and a written AI Coach report every Monday.

Behind SlimAI Pro: photo scanning beyond one a day, voice logging, custom gram-level calorie and macro goals, AI Body Assessment photo analysis, Health Patterns, smart food swaps, and history beyond the current week.

That is a different shape of free tier from most of this list. Where MyFitnessPal gives unlimited typing and charges for every faster input, SlimAI gives one fast input a day and charges for volume. Neither is generous in the abstract; which one suits you depends on whether your problem is quantity of logging or speed of it.

## Sources

MyFitnessPal support articles “What is included in the free version?” and “The difference between Free, Premium, and Premium +”; Cronometer’s Gold plan comparison at cronometer.com/gold; Lose It! at loseit.com/how-it-works and its App Store listing; Fitia’s comparison at fitia.app/premium; Cal AI’s App Store listing and calai.app; MacroFactor’s FAQ at macrofactor.com and macrofactorapp.com; FatSecret’s Compare Free to Premium table at fatsecret.com/premium; MyNetDiary’s App Store listing and Premium FAQ.

All read 4 September 2026. SlimAI's own free-tier list is taken from its App Store listing on the same date. Where this page says “not stated”, we looked and the vendor does not say.

## What the research says

Across 90 adults tracking food in an app for eight weeks, the people who completed the study logged on 70.2% of days and lost 2.19% of body weight, against 1.54% for the sample as a whole, which logged on about half of days. Frequency of logging explained 6.8% of the variance in weight change.

Source: [Payne JE, Turk MT, Kalarchian MA, Pellegrini CA (2022). Adherence to mobile-app-based dietary self-monitoring — impact on weight loss in adults. Obesity Science & Practice 8(3):279–288. doi:10.1002/osp4.566](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9159560/)

Thirty dietary recalls were entered into MyFitnessPal, Fitbit, Lose It!, MyPlate and Lifesum and compared with the NDSR research database. Energy and macronutrient correlations ran 0.73–0.96, but individual nutrients were underestimated by 7–41% depending on the app — MyFitnessPal for protein, total fat, sodium and cholesterol; Lose It! across six nutrients.

Source: [Griffiths C, Harnack L, Pereira MA (2018). Assessment of the accuracy of nutrient calculations of five popular nutrition tracking applications. Public Health Nutrition 21(8):1495–1502. doi:10.1017/S1368980018000393](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC10261454/)

## Compared a different way

- [AI and photo logging compared](https://www.slimai.ai/best-ai-calorie-tracker-app)
- [Free macro targets compared](https://www.slimai.ai/best-free-macro-tracker-app)
- [Protein tracking compared](https://www.slimai.ai/best-protein-tracker-app)
- [Apps for gaining weight](https://www.slimai.ai/best-weight-gain-app)

## Frequently Asked Questions

### What is the best food tracking app?

It depends on which part of tracking defeats you, and the honest split is by free tier rather than by overall quality. Cronometer is the strongest free tier for accuracy and barcode scanning. MyFitnessPal has the largest database but charges for every logging method faster than typing. SlimAI is the fastest free input if you cook, with one AI photo scan a day. MacroFactor is the most rigorous target engine and has no free tier at all.

### Which food tracking apps are actually free?

All of them are free to download, and none is free in the same way. Cronometer’s Basic plan includes barcode scanning, database search and custom macro and micronutrient targets. MyFitnessPal is free to log by typing, with barcode, photo and voice logging in Premium. SlimAI includes one AI photo scan a day, unlimited text and search, fasting, water, workouts and steps. Lose It! puts macro tracking itself in Premium. MacroFactor and Cal AI have no usable free tier — a trial and a subscription respectively.

### Is MyFitnessPal still free?

Free to log by typing, yes. Barcode scanning, Meal Scan photo logging, voice logging and multi-day logging are all Premium, and macro goals on the free tier are percentages in five-percent increments rather than grams. The barcode scanner moved behind Premium in 2022, which is worth remembering when reading older roundups that still describe it as free.

### Which food tracker has the biggest database?

MyFitnessPal states over 20 million foods on its App Store listing, and Lose It! states over 32 million foods and exercises. Size is not the same as accuracy: large databases are largely user-submitted, while Cronometer’s smaller catalogue is curated and lab-verified. For packaged and restaurant food, size wins; for a number you need to trust, verification does.

### How accurate are food tracking apps?

Less accurate than the numbers imply, in all of them. A meta-analysis of fourteen validation studies across twelve dietary-record apps found every app underestimated energy intake, pooled at roughly 202 kcal a day, with the gap narrowing to about 57 kcal a day when the app and the reference shared a food database. Nobody publishing a “best food tracking app” roundup, ourselves included, has run a controlled comparison of these specific apps — treat any claim that one is measurably more accurate than another as unsubstantiated.

### Should I pay for a food tracking app?

Only once you know which limit you are actually hitting. Log for two weeks on a free tier first; the constraint that emerges — you cannot scan barcodes, you cannot set gram targets, you have used your photo scan — tells you which subscription is worth buying and which is a different app’s free feature. Paying before you know that is how people end up with a subscription to the wrong app.

### What is the difference between a food tracker and a calorie counter?

In practice, marketing. Most apps do both: they record what you ate and total the calories and macros. The useful distinction is what an app leads with — some are built around the food diary and its database, some around the target and how it adapts, and some around the speed of the logging moment itself. Pick by which of those three is your actual obstacle.

Source: https://www.slimai.ai/best-food-tracking-app

## Try SlimAI

To try SlimAI, download SlimAI Calorie Tracker from the Apple App Store or Google Play and start the 3-day free trial; SlimAI Pro is then $7.99/month or $29.99/year (under $3/month), and can be cancelled anytime from the Apple or Google account that manages the subscription.

- Apple App Store: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/slimai-calorie-tracker/id6749062571
- Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.slimai.app
- Desktop (QR code): https://www.slimai.ai/download
